Manchester announces 33 Turing Fellows for 2021-22


The Alan Turing Institute, the UK's National Institute for AI has announced over 400 fellowships for 2021-22 across the 12 University partners. The University of Manchester is home to 33 of those Turing Fellows, across all three University Faculties and covering a diverse range of disciplines. 15 of Manchester's fellowships are new for 2021-22, joined by 18 fellows who have renewed their fellowships from 2020-21. 

Turing Fellows are scholars with proven research excellence in data science, artificial intelligence (AI) or a related field whose research would be significantly enhanced through active involvement with the Turing network of universities and partners.

It gives me great pleasure to welcome this new group of Fellows. This cohort is incredibly multidisciplinary and diverse. They will bring a rich range of expertise and ensure we continue to do world-leading, impactful research.

Turing Institute Director and Chief Executive Adrian Smith

Manchester's Turing fellows are:

Dr Richard Allmendinger
Prof Sophia Ananiadou
Prof Angelo Cangelosi
Dr Alex Casson
Prof Yu-wang Chen
Prof Christopher Conselice
Dr Simon Cotter
Prof Zhengtao Ding
Prof William Dixon
Dr Hui Guo
Prof Stefan Güttel
Prof Ian Hall
Prof Julia Handl
Prof Thomas House
Prof Caroline Jay
Prof Samuel Kaski
Prof Kody Law
Dr Manuel Lopez-Ibáñez
Dr Glen Martin
Dr Tingting Mu
Prof Goran Nenadic
Dr Nadia Papamichail
Prof Niels Peek
Dr Lorenzo Pellis
Dr Darren Price
Dr Matthew Sperrin
Dr Matthew Thorpe
Prof David Topping
Prof Marcel van Herk
Dr Markel Vigo
Dr Neil Walton
Dr David Wong
Prof Chris Yau
Prof Hujun Yin

Read more